Location: Oceania and the continent of Australia
Capital: Canberra
Area: 7 617 930 km2
Population: 25 986 100
Official languages: English
Other spoken languages: local Aboriginal languages

Ethnic groups: White Australians, Aborigines, foreign immigrants
Currency: AUD (Australian Dollar) (1 USD = 1.38 AUD; 1 EUR = 1.49 EUR)
Basic facts: Australia is a Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy with the English Queen as its monarch.

Travel tips:
1. Australia is the only continent-country, and in addition it also includes the island of Tasmania, as well as some other small islands.

2. The continent of Australia is the smallest, and at the same time the driest continent on the Earth, without any land connection to the other continents.

3. The main population in Australia lives on its southeast corner, as well as some “pockets” at the ocean coast. The rest of the country, including the whole interior is very sparcely populated.

4. Australia is known for its two distinctive cultures- the modern culture of the white Australians, and the exotic culture of the Aboriginal peoples.

5. Australia is also well-known for its exotic animals that can’t be seen anywhere else in the world- the Marsupials. The best known animals among them are the kangaroos, koalas, the Tasmanian devil, and more. But the weirdest animal in Australia is the Platypus.

10 best destinations in Australia:

  • Melbourne: The second largest city in Australia, one of the country’s modern centers, the center of the Greater Melbourne region.
  • Sydney: The largest city in Australia, one of the country’s modern centers, famous for one of the Australia’s most famous landmarks- the Sydney Opera.
  • Brisbane: The third largest city in Australia, one of the country’s modern centers, a popular starting point for exploring the Australian Eastern coast.
  • Cape York: The northernmost point of the Australian continent’s mainland, located deep north in the tropics, a good place for local adventures.
  • Great Victoria Desert: The largest desert in Australia, located in the Central-South part of the continent, a World Wildlife Fund Ecoregion.
  • Uluru: A large isolated hill-like rock in the middle of the desert, sacred for the local Aboriginal people, one of the popular Australian landmarks.
  • Perth: The largest city at the West Coast of Australia and the fourth largest in the continent, one of the modern centers in the country.
  • Darwin: A city in the northwestern coast of Australia, a starting point for many wild adventures in the sparsely populated area in the Australian Northwest.
  • Tasmania Island: The largest island in Australia, a natural extension of the continent further southeast, full of interesting flora and fauna.
  • Great Barrier Reef: The largest coral reef system on the Earth, located in the Coral Sea, northeast of the Australian mainland, a great place for scuba diving.
Scroll to Top